" sans titre " -  oct 2016
" sans titre " - oct 2016

acrylic on canvas - 169 x 129 cm

press to zoom
Chutes 2 100 x 100 0821
Chutes 2 100 x 100 0821

acrylic on canvas - 100 x 100 cm

press to zoom
" Marine 1 - 0821 "
" Marine 1 - 0821 "

acrylic on canvas - 81 x 100 cm

press to zoom
" sans titre " -  oct 2016
" sans titre " - oct 2016

acrylic on canvas - 169 x 129 cm

press to zoom
1/3
" Vide 0821 "
" Chute 0821 "
" Hommage à Twombly 0821 " 100 x 100 cm
" Composition presque géométrique 0821 "100x100 cm 0821
" Variations 2 0821 "
" Variations 1 0821 "
" Cedre du liban 0821 "
" Brumes 0821 "
" Bleu  0821 "
" Blanc 0821 "
" sans titre 190521 "
" Marine 1 0821 "
" Marine 2 0821 "
" sans titre " 2018
" Cercle 0521 "
" sans titre 10521 "
" Couches 0521 "
"  Légèrté vive 0521 "
" sans titre 20521
" Réveil 0521 "
" sans titre 40521 "
" sans titre 50521 "
" Dialogue 0521 "
" Fluidité 0521 "
" Sans titre 060521 "
"sans titre 70521 "
" sans titre 80521 "
" sans titre 90521 "
" sans titre 100521
" sans titre 110521 "
" sans titre 120521 "
" sans titre 210521 "
" sans titre 130521 "
" sans titre 160521 "
" sans titre 200521 "
" forêt rouge " 2017
" nuages de novembre "
" pâles lueurs " 2017

Jerome Legrand

Samagra Paris Gallery
Roy Sfeir Gallery
Collection Rudolf Greiner Tübingen, Germany
Concorde art gallery
Mr Masayuki Matsutani, Japan
Kasler Collection, Atlanta USA
O 'Neal collection, LA USA

“I have never met Jérôme Legrand, just his paintings. His gallery owner explained to me that he prefers to stay in the shadows. Well. I respect. After all, I haven't met Voltaire, Alexandre Dumas, Marguerite Yourcenar or Henry Miller, or Leonardo, or Goya, or Léger, or Muek ... yet I would have liked. But that didn't stop me from appreciating their work. So, I make a point.

With Jérôme Legrand, it was neither love at first sight nor obvious ... There is a "Nymphéas" aspect to Legrand's work, it requires long-term proximity, to come back to it, to let yourself be to impregnate, to permeate. Time. I'm not talking about the Water Lilies by chance, because Legrand has the same fascination with water as Monet, even if he apprehends it differently. With Monet, water was the receptacle and the diffuser of light, water was the necessary mirror of his subject, light: three hundred thousand kilometers / second. At Legrand, water is the active ingredient. It's slower. Legrand is the painter of water ... perhaps the first painter of water in which sensations and emotions dissolve, a painting that flows like music, like time. There is a musical subtlety about him. Musical and temporal, a pleonasm that I use to say that Jérôme Legrand's painting requires cohabitation, listening.

I don't know what he wants to tell us, his paintings are like haikus, magnificent poems in a foreign language, sonatas, moments of fugitive fossilized life; there is something there which is beyond speech. Water is life, the condition of life and what covers it when it is exhausted, before it springs up again. Water passes over Legrand's canvases and leaves sediments of emotions, things buried deep in the folds of time, stardust escaping from the cosmos, dreams that will never be remembered. Is he a musician, scientist, medium? I am not sure it is of our time. Jérôme Legrand is seated at the edge of a large river, wider than the Orinoco, slow and enigmatic. "

Olivier Delahaye

What is hidden must be made manifest, and what is manifest hidden. In this alone consists the work of the wise.

Bernardus Trevisanus

Apocalypse or epiphany? By bringing these two words together, there is no question of a catastrophe as inevitable as it is imminent, nor of a happy celebration with cake and beans. It is a question, here, of taking these terms in their first, etymological meaning, respectively revelation and manifestation … And it is indeed what it is about in the painting of Jérôme Legrand… At least from the point of view of spectator…

For our painter, it is different. He superimposes, on his canvases, liquid layers, more or less translucent, which partially mask the previous ones, leaving only a few areas preserved from occultation, like so many rocks in an ocean of pictorial matter. Objective coincidence in the sense in which Breton understood it ("the form of manifestation of external necessity which makes its way into the human unconscious") or not? The question remains open… What is certain is that, fluid sheet after fluid sheet, layer after layer, a depth is created which has nothing to that of the traditional illusionist perspective. The painter thus becomes, if we are to believe the 15th century alchemist, a sage, since he manifests (epiphany) what is hidden and hides from us part of what is manifest. We can also consider that his gesture, his action, mirror of his personality, would, in turn, be another form of epiphany. At least if we follow Jacques Maritain when he writes “Action is an epiphany of being”.

If the painter proceeds by constructing the canvas from the back to the surface, the viewer's eye goes from the surface to the background. His experience is therefore different. It is that of a progressive - and necessarily partial - revelation (apocalypse) of what the artist has deposited in the successive layers of his work. Contrary to the painter, the spectator is placed in a voyeuristic position, trying to distinguish or guess what the plastic artist wants to hide from him. Without knowing it, he is led to move his point of observation and to try to analyze the painting from his rear to his front, the work of an archaeologist pushing him to try to find the acting being - the painter - from his traces ... And maybe, finally, there is nothing else to discover than the invisible. These canvases could therefore prove Anaxagoras right who declared: “All that manifests itself is a vision of the invisible. »More still, they would support the thought of this presocratic philosopher according to which the intellect is the only cause of the universe… Of the pictorial universe, at least, in the present case… Jérôme Legrand does not hide it , moreover: "The subject does not exist, it is my own breathing, and my mood which dictate to me the breath, the rhythm, the tone. "

More than an asymmetry of the gaze, I think we should rather speak of semi-permeability of the pictorial material. The image of moucharabieh in the traditional architecture of the Arab countries is essential. Bringing a refreshing air, making it possible to see without being seen… Jérôme Legrand's canvases have these characteristics, especially those whose most superficial layer is white, evoking an eternal spring springing from the frozen grip of winter. The architectural anchoring is sometimes underlined by a vertical monochrome band at the left edge of the canvas. We can also see the mark of a binding encouraging to turn the cover to enter a book whose content remains permanently inaccessible.

The musical dimension is also very present in the layout of the paintings. We read there tensions, relaxations, strettos, developments, variations, modulations, changes of chromatic mode, from minor to major and vice versa. Visually, some canvases appear moreover like pages of musical scores. I find there certain sheets of the manuscript of Pierre Boulez's third piano sonata and, even more, of André Boucourechliev's Archipelagos. The notion of archipelago is moreover very intimately linked to the painting of Jérôme Legrand, with its ambient humidity and its emergence from buried reliefs like so many islets, reefs, accidents that catch and hold the eye ... to sink… The song of the Sirens…

Opacity and transparency… To hide to better reveal… To reveal to manifest an occulted truth… This is what is at stake in his painting.

Louis Doucet , January 2017

" sans titre " -  oct 2016
" sans titre " - oct 2016

acrylique sur toile - 169 x 129 cm

press to zoom
" Chutes 2 - 0821 "
" Chutes 2 - 0821 "

acrylique sur toile - 100 x 100 cm

press to zoom
" Marine 2 - 0821"
" Marine 2 - 0821"

acrylique sur toile - 81 x 100 cm

press to zoom
" sans titre " -  oct 2016
" sans titre " - oct 2016

acrylique sur toile - 169 x 129 cm

press to zoom
1/3
" Vide 0821 "
" Chutes 2 0821 "
" Hommage à Twombly 0821 " 100 x 100 cm
" Composition presque géométrique 0821 "
" Variations 2 0821 "
" Variations 1 0821 "
" Cedre du liban 0821 "
" Brumes 0821 "
" Bleu  0821 "
" Marine 1 0521 "
" Marine 2 0521 "
" sans titre 190521 "
" sans titre " 2018
" Cercle 0521 "
" sans titre 10521 "
" Dialogue 0521 "
" sans titre 20521
" sans titre 40521 "
" sans titre 50521 "
" Fluidité 0521 "
" Légèrté vive 0521 "
" Sans titre 060521 "
"sans titre 70521 "
" sans titre 80521 "
" sans titre 90521 "
" sans titre 100521
" sans titre 110521 "
" sans titre 120521 "
" sans titre 130521 "
" sans titre 160521 "
" 3 bandes 0521 "
" sans titre 200521 "
" forêt rouge " 2017
" pâles lueurs " 2017
" nuages de novembre "

Jérome Legrand

Galerie Samagra Paris
Galerie Roy Sfeir
Collection Rudolf Greiner Tübingen, Germany
Concorde art gallery                     
Mr Masayuki Matsutani, Japan
Kasler Collection, Atlanta USA
O’ Neal collection, L.A USA

« Je n'ai jamais rencontré Jérôme Legrand, juste ses peintures. Son galeriste m'a expliqué qu'il préfère rester dans l'ombre. Bon. Je respecte. Après tout, je n'ai pas rencontré Voltaire, Alexandre Dumas, Marguerite Yourcenar ni Henry Miller, ni Leonardo, ni Goya, ni Léger, ni Muek... pourtant j'aurais aimé. Mais ça ne m'a pas empêché d'apprécier leur œuvre. Alors, je me fais une raison.
 
Avec Jérôme Legrand, ça n'a pas été un coup de foudre ni une évidence... Il y a un côté "Nymphéas" avec le travail de Legrand, ça demande une proximité dans la durée, d'y revenir, de se laisser imprégner. Du temps. Je ne parle pas des Nymphéas par hasard, parce que Legrand a la même fascination de l'eau que Monet, même s'il l'appréhende différemment. Chez Monet, l'eau était le réceptacle et le diffuseur de la lumière, l'eau était le miroir nécessaire de son sujet, la lumière : trois cent mille kilomètres/seconde. Chez Legrand, c'est l'eau le principe actif. C'est plus lent. Legrand est le peintre de l'eau... peut-être le premier peintre de l'eau dans laquelle se dissolvent sensations et émotions, une peinture qui coule comme de la musique, comme du temps. Il y a une subtilité musicale chez lui. Musicale et temporelle, pléonasme que j'utilise pour dire que la peinture de Jérôme Legrand exige une cohabitation, une écoute.
 
Je ne sais pas ce qu'il veut nous dire, ses tableaux sont comme des haïkus, des poèmes magnifiques dans une langue étrangère, des sonates, des moments de vie fugitifs fossilisés ; il y a là quelque chose qui est au-delà du discours. L'eau c'est la vie, la condition de la vie et ce qui la recouvre lorsqu'elle s'est épuisée, avant qu'elle ne rejaillisse. L'eau passe sur les toiles de Legrand et laisse des sédiments d'émotions, de choses profondément enfouies dans les plis du temps, de poussières d'étoiles échappées du cosmos, de rêves dont on ne souviendra jamais. Est-il musicien, scientifique, medium ? Je ne suis pas sûr qu'il soit de notre époque. Jérôme Legrand est assis au bord d'un grand fleuve, plus large que l'Orénoque, lent et énigmatique. »

Olivier Delahaye

Il faut rendre manifeste ce qui est caché, et occulte ce qui est manifeste.  En cela seul consiste l’œuvre des sages.

Bernardus Trevisanus

Apocalypse ou épiphanie ? En rapprochant ces deux mots, il n’est pas question d’une catastrophe aussi inéluctable qu’imminente ni d’une joyeuse fête avec galette et fèves. Il s’agit, ici, de prendre ces termes dans leur sens premier, étymologique, respectivement révélation et manifestation… Et c’est bien de cela qu’il s’agit dans la peinture de Jérôme Legrand… Du moins du point de vue du spectateur…

Pour notre peintre, il en va autrement. Il superpose, sur ses toiles, des couches liquides, plus ou moins translucides, qui masquent partiellement les précédentes, ne laissant subsister que quelques plages préservées de l’occultation, comme autant d’étocs dans un océan de matière picturale. Hasard objectif au sens où Breton l’entendait (« la forme de manifestation de la nécessité extérieure qui se fraie un chemin dans l’inconscient humain ») ou non ? La question reste ouverte… Ce qui est certain, c’est que, nappe fluide après nappe fluide, couche après couche, se crée une profondeur qui n’a rien de celle de la perspective illusionniste traditionnelle. Le peintre devient ainsi, si l’on en croit l’alchimiste du XVe siècle, un sage, puisqu’il manifeste (épiphanie) ce qui est caché et nous cache une partie de ce qui est manifeste. On peut considérer aussi que son geste, son action, miroir de sa personnalité, serait, à son tour, une autre forme d’épiphanie. Du moins si l’on suit Jacques Maritain quand il écrit « L’action est une épiphanie de l’être ».

Si le peintre procède en construisant la toile du fond vers la surface, l’œil du regardeur, lui, va de la surface vers le fond. Son expérience est donc autre. C’est celle d’une révélation (apocalypse) progressive – et nécessairement partielle – de ce que l’artiste a déposé dans les couches successives de son œuvre. À rebours du peintre, le spectateur se trouve placé dans une position de voyeur, tentant de distinguer ou de deviner ce que le plasticien veut lui cacher. À son insu, il est amené à déplacer son point d’observation et à tenter d’analyser la peinture depuis son arrière vers son avant, travail d’archéologue le poussant à essayer de retrouver l’être agissant – le peintre – à partir de ses traces… Et peut-être que, finalement, il n’y a rien d’autre à découvrir que de l’invisible. Ces toiles pourraient donc donner raison à Anaxagore qui déclarait : « Tout ce qui se manifeste est vision de l’invisible. » Plus encore, elles soutiendraient la pensée de ce philosophe présocratique selon laquelle l’intellect est la seule cause de l’univers… De l’univers pictural, à tout le moins, dans le cas présent… Jérôme Legrand ne s’en cache pas, d’ailleurs : « Le sujet n’existe pas, c’est ma propre respiration, et mon humeur qui me dictent le souffle, le rythme, le ton. »

Plus que d’une asymétrie du regard, je pense qu’il faut plutôt parler de semi-perméabilité de la matière picturale. L’image du moucharabieh dans l’architecture traditionnelle des pays arabes s’impose avec force. Apporter un air rafraîchissant, permettre de voir sans être vu… Les toiles de Jérôme Legrand ont ces caractéristiques, surtout celles dont la couche la plus superficielle est blanche, évoquant un éternel printemps jaillissant de l’emprise glacée de l’hiver. L’ancrage architectural est parfois souligné par une bande monochrome verticale au bord gauche de la toile. On peut aussi y voir la marque d’une reliure incitant à tourner la couverture pour pénétrer dans un livre dont le contenu reste définitivement inaccessible.

La dimension musicale est aussi très présente dans la mise en page des peintures. On y lit des tensions, des détentes, des strettes, des développements, des variations, des modulations, des changements de mode chromatique, du mineur au majeur et viceversa. Visuellement, certaines toiles se présentent d’ailleurs comme des pages de partitions musicales. J’y retrouve certaines feuilles du manuscrit de la troisième sonate pour piano de Pierre Boulez et, plus encore, des Archipels d’André Boucourechliev. La notion d’archipel est d’ailleurs très intimement liée à la peinture de Jérôme Legrand, avec son humidité ambiante et ses émergences de reliefs enfouis comme autant d’îlots, de récifs, d’accidents qui accrochent et retiennent le regard… Pour le faire sombrer… Le chant des Sirènes…

Opacité et transparence… Cacher pour mieux révéler… Révéler pour manifester une vérité occultée… C’est bien tout l’enjeu de sa peinture.

Louis Doucet, janvier 2017